Skip to primary navigation Skip to main content
0 item $0.00

The Baker Institute's Bright Sparks Program aims to attract and retain the very highest calibre of postgraduate students by recognising their achievements and supporting them with financial awards. The 2017 crop of Bright Sparks impressed the adjudicators with their talent and commitment to science. We look forward to seeing what the year ahead holds for them.

Early Career Scientists Research Grant

Helena Qin, Heart Failure Pharmacology
Kristy Jackson, Neuropharmacology

Bertalli Mini Grant

Megan Grace, Physical Activity

Miller Study Leave Grant

Mitchel Tate, Heart Failure Pharmacology

Women In Science Grant

Kristy Jackson, Neuropharmacology

Bright Sparks Top-Up Scholarships

Michelle Flynn
Sarah Gutman
Adam Hagg, Muscle Research and Therapeutics
Gerard Pernes
Satish Ramkumar

Bright Sparks Stipend Fund

Michael Keating
Liz Potter

Travel awards

Harold Mitchell Travelling Fellowship
Xiaowei Wang, Atherothrombosis and Vascular

Harold Mitchell Travelling Fellowship
Digsu Koye

Travelling fellowship
Kevin Watt, Muscle Research and Therapeutics

Travelling fellowship
Rebecca Loh, Metabolic and Vascular Physiology

Baker Travel Awards
Erin Howden, Metabolic and Vascular Physiology
Rachel Climie, Physical Activity
Satish Ramkumar
Pia Varsamis

Support us

With the rising number of Australians affected by diabetes, heart disease and stroke, the need for research is more critical than ever.

Find out more